Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Heart concerns

Heart concerns

I'm a newbie, I came here from Anxiety Zone. Ever since my Dad had a major heart attack back in 2008, I've had major health anxiety, with cardio fears ruling my anxiety. My family on both sides have extensive heart disease which doesn't help matters.

Long story short, I've been through quite a few cardio test. In 2008 I did several EKGs, an echo, and wore a 24 hour monitor. All it found was tachycardia. My doctor put me on Lexapro and I've just dealt with it the best I can over the years.

My main symptoms are an obsession with my heart rate, general tightness in my chest area that comes and goes, shortness of breath, and sharp, stabbing pains that come and go. I will say, in the past two years, I've gained lots of weight, about 60lbs. The symptoms seem to have gotten worse since then.

I lose my breath so easily, and then I sit here yawning and trying to catch up. The slightest physical activity makes my heart race, and then the tightness follows. Changing positions in bed, bending over, etc. My heart just pounds. I can go days and feel like I'm not breathing deeply enough.

Last year, my doctor commented on my consistently high heart rate. She put me on a beta blocker and I take 10mg twice a day now. She did an EKG which was normal. She sent me to a cardiologist and my EKG there was normal. They reviewed my tests from 2008 and didn't see an immediate need to repeat them, but due to my family's history, they want me to start going once a year for a cardio checkup.

I'm on here today because I'm now in day 3 of a rapid heartbeat, not feeling like I'm breathing deeply, and general tightness in my chest. It's really scaring me, because on top of that, I've just been feeling tired and rundown lately. Like no energy to do anything.