Thread: Heart Palps/Flushing associated with food

Heart Palps/Flushing associated with food

Hi everyone

I could really use some support and anyone with experience.

I have had a bad spate of ectopics which started late February and continued until I then had (sorry for tmi!) a 17 day period (! usually it's only 2 days), when the ectopics calmed down.

So I think I'm having some hormonal changes, I'm 46, and maybe that's part of it. That doesn't worry me.

What worries me is the palpitations and facial flushing if I delay eating even for just a short while. One day a week I have a long commute and I don't eat until around 9 - 10pm and a lot of problems seem to happen then.

One night my heart did something really weird like 4 fast powerful beats (almost like it was warning me) and then went into a really fast rhythm. I panicked and called an ambulance (I've never done this before) and they took 3 hours to get to me. And of course in my mind these fast rhythms can cause death in minutes.

Now that I've calmed down and done some reading I realise that fast rhythms are not usually life threatening, only one type is and that type only usually happens if there is disease of the heart (and even then can happen many times without causing death, but of course we all know it can do it)..........so I've calmed down a bit....

But I'm dreading my commute this week. I'm always exhausted, always hungry (even when I take snacks).....I suppose I could increase the dose of beta blocker that day and force myself to eat every 3 hours just to get through it all. I know once I've done it once I'll be back on track and ok, but I'm dreading this week.