Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Meditation

Meditation

so i started trying to meditate in order to deal with my anxiety and i was just wondering if anyone has any meditation techniques/ videos / links / resources they could share with me?

im quite new to this and usually just put 'meditation for anxiety' in youtube lol and its perfectly fine but im curious to hear other suggestions too

Re: Meditation

I put some free resources together for Mindfulness a while back. I keep meaning to update it with more:

http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=168689

Some of those are MBCT/MBSR courses (one is a free MBSR online course) which come with books usually. But you could have a look and see what you think without having to pay out.

Yeah, there is tons out there. Basic meditations, different disciplines, ones that build on top of each other, etc. It can be a bit confusing.

The most popular these days is Mindfulness which was brought to the US by Jon Kabat-Zinn decades ago after his research in Buddhism. It doesn't include any of the spiritual side of Buddhism, which is a lot larger and far more complex. Zinn creatd MBSR to give people a course to work through. Later, Professor Mark Williams co created MBCT which is similar but more connected to CBT. MBCT has NICE evidence approval for certain conditions to show it works. MBSR has more evidence out ther as it's being around longer. But you don't need to do either of these structured programmes to meditate in Mindfulness. They are useful though because they start with a foundation and walk you through more exercises to build on your skills.

Prior to this form, Trancendental Meditation (TM) was the big popular one. This fell out of fashion as their was some infighting. You might remember the Hollywood celeb types raving about meditation in the 80/90's? That was this stuff. TM is much deeper because it's larger than the section taken out of Buddhism for Mindfulness.