Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Benign fasciculation syndrome

Benign fasciculation syndrome

Hi All,

I have been diagnosed with bfs after seeing neurologist.
    Anyone else have this condition?
    I also have muscle spasms and an electrical type pins and needles sensation in my hands and feet.
    I've looked into Benign fasciculation syndrome and I certainly fit the profile.
    Anybody else have coping mechanisms for dealing with this condition?
    I've tried just ignoring them but they are there 24/7 especially when at rest. Less so when moving around.
    Awful things.
    Need some advice please
    Michelle

Re: Benign fasciculation syndrome

I hope that is what I have. I have been twitching for about 5-6 months now. Started in the left calf (perhaps because I was worried about some swelling in my left knee at the time). Then I had full body twitches, neck twitches, in addition to hip and butt twitches. My thumbs and index fingers twitch every now and then though my pinkies have stopped.

It is annoying, but I am not getting any weaker and any other scary symptoms I have had have other reasonable explanations especially when anxiety is factored in. If I were you I would be very happy with that diagnosis since most neuros will tell you no one has ever had BFS that progressed into something worse.

There is a great site aboutbfs.com that will answer many questions (though sadly the admin is AWOL so they cannot admit new members).

Time to stop worrying about your twitches.

That diagnosis is just another way of saying 'a name for something we can't really describe'.

Don't worry about it.

It's just a side effect of anxiety.