Thread: I Lied About a death in my family so I would not have to face work

I Lied About a death in my family so I would not have to face work

I'm so worried and anxious as I have got myself into a situation which I'm afraid is going to get me into alot of trouble. I started a new job last week but it wasn't long into it that I realised that what they'd described in the interview was not the reality. Also there's alot of travelling down South to their other offices. I didn't realise it would be so much and wish I hadn't taken it now.

My boss keeps pressuring me about going down every week but I have hobbies outside of work in the evenings that I don't want to sacrifice. I said as much that I can't go often and on top of that the work is alot more difficult than expected focusing on an area I have little experience in. I'm expected to go down to the other office tomorrow, with accommodation and travel paid for but the thought of doing this job for a month, which is what the notice would be to quit, is just too much. I got myself so worked up over the last few days with having to sit in on meetings that I don't understand etc. that I became really anxious and stressed. I just know this job is wrong for me and am kicking myself for taking it. But I don't have the confidence to say it or the self esteem to just tell the truth and deal with the response. So I texted in this morning and said my gran had died. I know its awful - she died 3 years ago but I lied and said she had last night. I don't know what I'm going to do now. I was hoping that I could then get out of the job by saying later that I'm not coping and will be off for a good few weeks so won't be able to come back to the job, but I think I've made things worse for myself now. I'm so worried and ashamed. I can't go back but at the same time I'm scarred that I will be found out and I don't km know whet to do next.