Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I have lymphoma - ask me anything

I have lymphoma - ask me anything

Hi! I used these forums a few years ago while I was getting panic attacks and they really helped me. I remembered that there were a lot of people would post about having swollen glands and would panic about having lymphoma. Well, I was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma in March of this year and on Monday will have my last chemotherapy! I have been through what you guys are scared about and look! I am still here!
    I would love to give back to the community that once helped me, so please ask me anything about my experience and I will be happy to answer.
    One thing - a big thing: I am not a doctor and cannot diagnose you or give you any reassurance about your health, you need a doctor to do that. If you are seriously worried about your swollen glands go and get them checked by a clinical practitioner - advocate for your health. I am only here to answer questions about my experience as a cancer patient.

Re: I have lymphoma - ask me anything

How did you were diagnosed? What were your symptoms and how large were your swollen lymph nodes?

It took about 8 months for me to get diagnosed. The lymph nodes were the last symptom to appear. The first symptoms were fatigue that wasn't solved by sleep, painful joints, recurrent rashes, intermittent flu symptoms that didn't ever turn into the flu and then night sweats that completely drenched me and the bed. The lymph nodes were in my collar bone and on the side of my neck and shrank/grew - the one that was removed for biopsy was about the size of a jelly bean. I had other swollen nodes around my body but the lymphoma was only in my neck, chest and a tiny spot above my liver.

Basically I went to the doctor 3 or 4 times before I was sent for a CT scan, then the scan led to a biopsy and PET scan and full diagnosis.

No questions - hope your recovery goes well❤️