Thread: Do You Avoid Doing Things Because Of Your Anxiety?

Do You Avoid Doing Things Because Of Your Anxiety?

I was pretty much agoraphobic, I never went out of my house from I got in from work on Firday evenings until I went back to work on Monday, Now the agoraphobia has gone I still avoid situtaions, Not because I'm scared but because I've acted this way so long if just doesn't feel natural, I still sit in the house all weekend, even when I do rarely go out I don't enjoy it, I'd much rather be at home, I suppose its turned me into a loaner.

Anyone else like this?

Re: Do You Avoid Doing Things Because Of Your Anxiety?

Hi Sam.

What you said about yourself is so similar to my own probs.

I have a degree of agorapbobia in that I have a 'comfort zone of about ten miles radius of the village where I live.

It is very hard to motivate yourself to go out - I literally have to force myself out of my front door- I want to stay in bed all of the time.

It seems from what you said about staying in all weekend that you might be a bit depressed, but that is only my opinion.

It is great that you can go to work, that is something I can't achieve.

Maybe if you phoned a few people at the weekend it would be a start - I have often rang the Samaritans when I was at my lowest and it really helps to have someone impartial to talk to. The No Panic help line is good too. Even chatting on msn or yahoo is more interactive than watching TV .

Anyway I hope that you find it in yourself to go out just once at the weekend, even if it is only to the nearest shop.

Email me if you like at eibhlin-0711@homail.com or add me to your msn/yahoo contacts.

I really hope thinks will improve for you soon.

Take care

Eibhlin

Hi,

Thanks for that, sent you an email.

Sounds like you have developed a behaviour habit and can't break it. I am the same - I can't get myself to travel far even though I am physically better. I am trying NLP to help break my habits.