Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hair loss worry

Hair loss worry

Hi I'm new to this..i have been noticing my hair shedding excessively since july...i don't have any bald patches yet but my scalp is more noticeable. I moved house at the end of March this year and ridiculous as it sounds was a really traumatic and stressful time that resulted in me not eating and losing almost a stone in 2 weeks..ive since read about a condition called Telogen Effluvium which can present itself 2 to 3 months after a trauma or stressful event. I'm terrified I will go bald. I haven't been to the doctors yet but have started taking an iron supplement, a hair skin and nails supplement and using a caffeine shampoo..i hate washing or brushing my hair, I'm constantly checking my hair, counting hair, checking the carpets ..Has anyone else experienced this and had a positive change? This anxiety is simply controlling my life as stupid as that sounds..i think about it constantly and juat want my life back..
    Many thanks

Re: Hair loss worry

Hi NewYorkGirl - Welcome to NMP. If you are young and female, the chances of you going bald are absolutely minimal. Everyone sheds hair every day. If you notice lots of hair around, it's actually a sign that you have a thick and healthy head of hair.

No-one has taken your life from you. It's right there waiting for you, but you must overcome irrational anxiety to be able to accept it.

OMG, I am going through this too!!!!

I have had a lot of stress since May (all health/ health anxiety but actual testing for possible cancer). I am also going through perimenopause.

IN the past couple of months, I have noticed my hair shedding and it is definitely thinner all around. In my case, I don't know if it's stress, perimenopause, or a combination of the two!! I spent yesterday looking at wigs online, lol!

I think you should definitely see a doctor, as there can be multiple causes of this AND you don't want to go too high on iron. HOw old are you?