Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Really upset

Really upset

I took my elderly gerbil Primrose to the vets to get her teeth checked on Wednesday and during the examination on the table she jumped out of the vet's hands and landed on the floor. She has broken her leg.
    I am syringing painkillers (metacam) twice a day but I'm not confident that she will make it although she is quite active and bright. Ironically her teeth were fine.
    I love animals but am a hopeless owner because I worry too much when there are problems. I really hope Primrose recovers but I'll have to make a decision over the weekend if she is really struggling..
    I'd really appreciate a bit of advice but please no horrible comments re vermin etc. Thanks for reading.

Re: Really upset

Oh Pulisa I am so sorry.

Definitely not vermin, I love gerbils, they are amazing pets.

I have no experience of broken limbs in small furries but be led by your vet.

The metacam will reduce inflamation and help with the pain.

I am the same with my pets, full of no nonsense advice for others but turn into a gibbering wreck when it is one of mine.

I really hope that Primrose starts to heal soon.

KK77 is offline NMP Complaints Mismanagement Controller

Very sorry to hear this Pulisa. Know from your previous posts how much you care for animals and your pets. You will know the right thing to do re Primrose's survival. Really hope she pulls through. You are a loving owner whatever happens though.

Never Surrender, Comrade

Hi there , it doesn't matter how big or what animal it is when you take them on they are one of the family , metacam can be quite harsh my dog had it for his arthritis so very small dose , any blood in the stool or urine stop using it , I learned the hard way that sometimes it's better and kinder to let them go , when my current dogs get old I will be better equipped to make that hard decision , it won't make it any easier though , hope it gets better . Take care