Thread: I got my first full-time job. Tips?

I got my first full-time job. Tips?

Hi everyone!

I am 25 years old and I just got my first full-time job. I graduated in June of this year and from then I have been job hunting! So I was delighted to be offered a full-time position in the civil service.

I have only worked once before, it was a part-time position and I only stayed for 4 months (I left because I started uni). My anxiety has definitely stopped me from looking for full-time employment before but I decided its now or never. However, despite this, I am so nervous as I start this Monday! I have fears that I think almost everyone has when starting a new job (being bad at the job, making mistakes, fitting in etc.). Though, I also have fears regarding my anxiety disorder (i.e. taking a panic attack at work, not being able to perform due to anxiety etc.).

I really want to be successful at this job and to become a happier, healthier person. From past experiences I know that constant stimulation, exposure, routine and structure are the best treatment for me personally when it comes to anxiety so in the long run, I think full-time work is going to be amazing for me. However, in the short run, I am worried on how I will cope. I have spent 4 months now (from graduation) sleeping all day and staying up all night, I haven't left the house much as I haven't had anything to do which has made me slip back into avoiding any situations that would provoke anxiety, my diet has been bad etc. So basically, I am wondering if anyone could provide me with any tips on how to cope for the first few weeks of my new full-time job?