Thread: Job worries and need some support

Job worries and need some support

Hello all, I hope that everyone is doing well. I am in need of a little support and advice, I have been told that my current contract at work is not going to be extended, this has caused me to spiral out of control in the last week or so.

A little bit of backstory, I have extreme OCD and anxiety normally relating to work issues or health issues. I graduated from university last May and was panicking for weeks about finding a job when a job popped up at my University and lucky enough I got the job. This job was originally contracted for 6 months, however, the contract was extended to 13 months in the end and will on the 31st of July and that's it no chance of an extension. Myself and the other 2 employees are looking for jobs (Meaning I already have two competitors who I deem better than me) and we are applying for the same roles both internally and externally. Now this is where my problem starts I have 5 months left but don't feel like I will get another job, I had an interview at a different university that went so badly it has knocked me back and ruined my confidence so much that I have started to fall back into my pit of depression and it's becoming obvious to my partner, colleagues and boss. All I want is to achieve something that I set out a long time ago a 5-year plan upon graduation to work at the university for 5 years then go into a field such as TV, Film or games. That was always the plan and it made me feel good when I got this job it felt achievable, but now I feel as once this contract has ended I will not get a job and all the experience I have gained over the year will be wasted. I just don't know what to do I'm so down and unhappy and feel as if I need some support or advice to keep my head above the water.

Luke

Re: Job worries and need some support