Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Breast Cancer Anxiety?

Unhappy Breast Cancer Anxiety?

Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum so I am sorry if this is posted incorrectly, I just want somewhere to drop my worries...

So a few weeks ago I had a dream that I felt a lump in my breast, when I woke up I was actually feeling the side of my breast and it was very painful (I was PMSing so my breasts were sore) ever since then I have convinced myself I have breast cancer, it doesn't help that right after this dream I had to do a project on dreams warning you of illness' AND young women getting breast cancer!!

Now I am so deep in my breast cancer research I think ever little pain and tissue I feel in my breast could be cancer. A few things that could've triggered this dream was this little lump I have in my armpit I got from a shaving accident in the shower, it was very close to the "lump" I found in my breast in my dream. Another thing being my friends mother was recently diagnosed with breast cancer and I found out a day or two before this dream.

I am 19 years old, I am pretty flat chested so my breasts always feel boney and lumpy (I guess from ribs and muscle). I exercise 4 times a week and eat pretty healthy most of the time. I don't drink or smoke and the ONLY person I know of in my family to have breast cancer was my great aunt on my moms side who was diagnosed and sadly passed away at 40... however I heard she had lots of hormone injections to help her have a baby, I am guessing that was how she got it since no one else on her side has it.

Logically I feel like I know deep down I should quit worrying, but that dream I had keeps freaking me out saying: What if? I went to a doctor for a breast exam and said everything was normal and I shouldn't worry at all.