Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't swallow briefly

Can't swallow briefly

I've had this for years - it's where I go to swallow but it feels like the muscles in my throat freeze. I cannot swallow for 2 seconds. Then the reflex comes back.

Recently, it's been happening for a few seconds, and seems longer. I'm worried about brain stem tumours.

Does anyone else have this?

Re: Can't swallow briefly

I'm no doctor but if you've had it for years and it was serious, you'd be ill by now I would have thought?
    The swallowing thing is a classic anxiety symptom.

Quote Originally Posted by RadioGaGa View Post
    I've had this for years - it's where I go to swallow but it feels like the muscles in my throat freeze. I cannot swallow for 2 seconds. Then the reflex comes back.

Recently, it's been happening for a few seconds, and seems longer. I'm worried about brain stem tumours.

Does anyone else have this?
    Brainstem tumours are incredibly rare, even more so in adults.

Also their symptoms are literally the most devastating of all brain tumours and come on very quickly (not years, weeks, even days) I could elaborate in much more detail as to why this is impossible but I'd rather you just trust me on this one.

Yep, have it often. Classic anxiety symptom.

I thought it was just me that had this!!

With me, I’ll sometimes go to swallow but the reflex won’t happen and I’ll keep trying but it’s like the muscles are just refusing to work. Sometimes it happens for a good few seconds and I begin to panic because I think my swallowing reflex has ceased completely, then I’ll swallow and feel a huge relief. It is quite scary!! I honestly think every time that I won’t ever swallow again.

Quote Originally Posted by Alisha Fearer View Post
    I thought it was just me that had this!!