Thread: Serious Anxiety Over Stomach / GI Issues. My life isn’t enjoyable anymore :(

Serious Anxiety Over Stomach / GI Issues. My life isn’t enjoyable anymore :(

I’ll preface this by saying I’ve been diagnosed with panic disorder / GAD in the past, when I was 16. At that time I was convinced there wa something wrong with my lungs, after I had a panic attack from weed. Several lung/heart doctors later, I turned out fine, and never really worried about it again (or if I did, I was able to get over it within the hour). So I do have a history of stuff like this.

But this time, it just feels so real :/

I’m gonna try and keep this short, but it might end up long

This all started when I got sick back in late January / Early Feb. I was just starting college full time at night. I’m a non-traditional student - 26, also working full time during the day. Its worth mentioning I absolutely hate and am completely miserable at my job. So much stress comes from it.

Anyway, I had this sinus infection I couldn’t kick (this leads into stomach issues I promise), which me to believe I had something serious going on.

After my 3rd visit to the doctor, he prescribed me antibiotics and I was on my way. About a half a week into the medication, I started to notice small white “balls” when I went to the bathroom. This seriously freaked me out and led me into the Google Oblivion we all know so well. This is were my problems really kicked into over drive.

Eventually I noticed small streaks of blood on the stool and also floating blood once.

I went back to the doctor and he did a test check with his finger, an on the spot test for blood, and a stool test, looking for C-Diff. All tests came back clear, and he diagnosed me with IBS. This, of course, as health anxiety sufferers know so well, almost completely calmed my symptoms, and eventually they slipped to the back of my mind.