Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Als fears

Als fears

Hi, I have never written on a forum before but I am just so consumed with worry. I'm a 32 year old woman and for as long as I can remember I have had health anxiety. This is a whole new level.of anything I've experienced before. I started twitching throughout My whole body about a month ago and I've been so worried about it that it is als, I also have perceived weakness in my limbs. The scariest part though is I woke in the middle of the night and couldn't lift my arm. It just wouldn't move more than a few inches. After 30 seconds I could move it again but now 12 hours later it is so sore and achey/heavy. Please help reassure me. Also I have ck blood test which was normal and all other blood tests and basic reflexes/strength test normal

Re: Als fears

I'm sure Fishmanpa will be along shortly with his useful link about this fear.....

I'm glad you used the phrase 'perceived weakness', thats a refreshing thing to read. Most people here think they definitely DO have weakness, but it seems like you are able to understand that it isn't real weakness, but just 'feels' it. ALS/MND is a hugely common fear on this forum, as it seems to be the ultimate fear condition for many, you will find many many threads on it - often daily - if you do a search. The fact that your reflex and strength tests show no change are testament to it being a 'perceived weakness'.