Thread: Nice enough life & anxiety ruining it

Nice enough life & anxiety ruining it

Hi everyone,

On the surface...good job (engineer), great car, nice house & great wife.

Under the surface I'm in such a mess. Few weeks off work with stress this year that were a long tine coming. I'm doing well at work but terrified of much of it. Big responsible job but at the end of the day I'm the small town boy i always was. Work been tough since. I'm a dept manager & it sucks energy...a stream of complaints & gripes and I'm not allowed any.

Wife packed job in, leaving me as only earner. She works but is self employed (read: earns pretty much nothing).

Was looking forward to a restful Christmas & I've found an obviously quite harmless lump in mouth. Since then I've had pains all over jaw & mouth. Clearly cancer if you belive Google.

I had this a few years back. I suffer from some minor soft tissue dysfunction so i get random tendinitis etc but with no real diagnosable damage. That turned into life limiting disability....apart from it wasn't.

I'm seeing a counsellor but can't seem to shift this. It's like I've got a constant drain of energy that means every so often a self destruct button gets pushed. I'm right there now.

If anyone out there that suffers the same then I'd be glad fir any advice. Late 40s fairly 'tough' guy on the exterior but in reality I'm a bloody mess.

Re: Nice enough life & anxiety ruining it

I think you'll find lots of people on here who can relate. It's a lot of pressure being the primary earner, particularly in a high-stress job. My advice would be to have a serious think about whether you can make some lifestyle changes. Perhaps it's time to tell your wife how you're feeling too? It sounds like you're not having much fun or enjoyment at the moment either. Are there any hobbies or goals that would give you something to look forward too and take your mind off the daily grind? x