View Poll Results: Did you?

Voters
14. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

2 14.29%
  • No

12 85.71%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: POLL: Did you ever find out you really had the illness you feared?

POLL: Did you ever find out you really had the illness you feared?

Of course we're talking about serious illnesses, disabling or life-threatening.

Thanks guys.

Re: POLL: Did you ever find out you really had the illness you feared?

I've been frequenting NMP since April 2012, and in that time I've never read of anyone actually getting the disease they feared the most - whether it be at the time they post, or months/years after the fact.

I have also never read of anyone online getting a disease they fear the most. I'm not sure how we could work out a statistic of people who have health anxiety, find an illness they fear the most (for me, this is Glioblastoma) and then actually develop it. Nothing is impossible, sadly, although I'd say the chances of people getting the disease they fear the most is probably up there with winning the lottery. There are so many ways in which one can die, that each time you have a HA flare about a particular illness, going by statistics you're probably (?definitely) wrong.

Answer to your question, in short, is a resounding "no".

Good luck

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle

I agree that I can think of one of two people over 18 years that got the diagnosis they thought - everyone else was fine or never even came back to update us

“Don't be afraid of death; be afraid of an unlived life. You don't have to live forever, you just have to live.” - Natalie Babbitt

Please help keep NMP running and donate to the running costs: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/donate