Thread: Turning the corner - Dare I say it?

Turning the corner - Dare I say it?

Hi, my name is Rich. I’m a technology Sales Professional. I’m 40 years old and I have a wife and two teenage kids. My wife and I both work full time and I am the primary “breadwinner”. I’d previously suffered an episode of near-debilitating GAD in my early 30’s. At the time I was put onto 20mg Citalopram and whilst the side effects were indeed horrid, I found comfort in the various articles and posts on this site, which kept me going. Almost 8 weeks to the day after starting Citalopram, I began to feel “normal’ish” again. From there it just got better and for the most part, my mid to late 30’s were brilliantly successful. I weaned off Citalopram completely by early 2017 and was stable, almost incapable of feeling any anxiety, for almost 2 years. In early March this year, I suffered another near-deblitating GAD attack. Faced with debt and a family to support, I’ve had no option other than to carry on working. The environment in which I work is very male machismo oriented and sympathy, empathy or understanding when it comes to mental health issues is about as forthcoming as hitting the jackpot on the lottery. It’s been a long, hard-fought battle. For almost 6 weeks I was on 10mg Escitalopram - during this period, I thought I was done and it would never improve, I’d never sleep again (without a sleeping pill) and that I was going nuts - all the while faking it every day at work and having to see customers and put together quotes! I continued to experience horrific side effects right up until I decided to switch to 20mg Citalopram which I’d taken previously, which was brilliant. The first two weeks were less than pleasant and in fact, my anxiety reared it’s head again in the second week. I couldn’t believe it, what the hell was going on!? Okay, even though Escitalopram was wrong for me, surely the Seratonin levels in my brain were higher!? Week 3 (this past week), I got to Thursday and fel