Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bulbar ALS/MND

Bulbar ALS/MND

Hi all, newbie here.

2 years ago I suddenly developed bodywide fasciculations/ twitches. They're pretty constant, mainly in legs but all over. I was in a panic once I Googled ALS. After 4 months of NHS waiting I got a clear neuro exam and EMG on both legs and an arm (clean aside from a few fasciculations in calf).

Fast forward to 2 weeks ago and I suddenly developed a tightness around my throat. Swallowing feels harder and tighter, kind of constricted or pressured. Sometimes my swallow feels delayed, or I have a sudden urge to swallow that catches me by surprise. I've also started having lots of ear crackling and popping which seems like eustachian tube dysfunction.

I now fear that it was bulbar onset ALS all along, and the EMG missed it as they only checked limbs. I think I have the start of dysphagia and the muscles in my ENT area are now weakening. I doubt if my doctor will take me seriously after the panic last time though. I don't know what to do. I'm sure this isn't right though.

Re: Bulbar ALS/MND

Please READ THIS.

Positive thoughts
    "Eat. Drink. Enjoy the work you do. Be thankful for the blessings God gives you in this life. Live, love and seek out the things that bring your heart joy. The rest is meaningless... Like chasing the wind." King Solomon

The best help is the help you give yourself! http://cbt4panic.org/

Quote Originally Posted by Fishmanpa View Post
    Please READ THIS.

Positive thoughts
    Thanks, I have read that, but the problem is all the other stuff I've read too.

You're anxious and hypervigilant, that's all.

Quote Originally Posted by Frightened View Post
    Thanks, I have read that, but the problem is all the other stuff I've read too.
    Stop reading it then.

You've been medically cleared. Go out and enjoy the hayfever.

Hello frightened,