Thread: Sorry guys, I just need to vent

Sorry guys, I just need to vent

I am currently on a two week camping trip in the Canadian Rockies - my absolute favorite place in the world. I have been before a few times and always want to come back. I am with my friend, who has never been and honestly hasn’t done much camping period (but her current boyfriend is outdoorsy so she’s been recently). We’ve traveled together before and I should have known better, but we are three days in and she’s driving me up the wall!! So enjoy my vents below:

- she’s done most of the driving in my new car and not only drives wayyyy too fast, she is constantly passing people in a way where she stomps on the gas and revs my motor in a way that feels terrible. I drive some but she insists too, and when I drive she complains that I’m a bad driver.

- she brought so much stuff. We are camping out of the car and it’s filled to the top. Mostly with crap we don’t need. Tiki torches? Got them. A large table I told her we’d never be able to use anyway? Got it. Five bags of clothes. A plastic box of assorted junk. She says she wants to go backpacking but good lord, there’s no way.

- she insisted on buying bottled beer, instantly it fell out of the car when we parked and shattered all over the ground.

- she’s complaining that our campsites don’t have good views. They don’t - but campsites here book really quickly. I booked a bunch in January for early July and she has something else come up so we had to move the trip and take whatever was available. So, not my fault the sites suck.

- insists we will have a fire until 11 pm. I will go to bed sooner and she says we can just let it burn while we sleep. Sure, sounds like an excellent idea.

- told her boyfriend, who is flying in to camp with us at the end of the trip, that we’d be happy to take a bunch of his stuff in our car too.