Thread: Retirement & Mental Health ........ ( Tips, Ideas )

Retirement & Mental Health ........ ( Tips, Ideas )

I'm retiring on 9th October. Think I've luckily got the money side sorted so that I can do that. However I've got nervousness about navigating my BiPolar during my retirement.

https://tonyamis.blogspot.com/2019/0...again-too.html

If you have any good ideas for me then please do post. I'm thinking about getting a home exercise bicycle for instance.

Re: Retirement & Mental Health ........ ( Tips, Ideas )

Hi Mezzanine.
    Went through / going through the same thing. I have been working long days and high-stress jobs for over 30 years now and was completely burnt out, it was affecting me physically and negatively. I had not planned on retiring at 62 but I hit a wall where I almost had no choice, I could not go on the way I was going. I went through many months of soul-searching, financial analysts, therapy appointments, etc. all trying to help me figure out if I should retire or not. It was agreed that I couldn't keep up the pace I had been much longer, but I wasn't sure my husband could sustain us without my income, and there was a lot of guilt mixed in with that, but mostly I worried what would become of me if I no longer had those 14-hour days of corporate stuff demanding my time and attention. Too much time on the hands of a person with anxiety can be a terrible thing. Took me months of crying, sleepless nights, talks with my husband and friends, and finally knew I had no choice.... I gave my 2-months' notice.