Thread: A constant fight to stay alive, or at least that’s how it feels

A constant fight to stay alive, or at least that’s how it feels

I’m a 31 year old male and I’ve been battling serious anxiety for about five years. It started with severe panic attacks and slowly progressed into a continuous feeling of being weak and sick. Haven’t had a real panic attack for a year of two, but came close to it a few times.

Today I feel sick most of the day. I feel weak, with pain throughout my body and especially a constant headache. The fatigue is terrible. It’s a vicious circle, because the fear and weakness make the anxiety worse which in turn makes me more tired. When it gets bad I fear my heart will stop and I will collapse. It’s almost a constant fight to keep myself standing, as it really feels like I will fall if I don’t do that.

I still go to uni every day, but it’s difficult. I live with my girlfriend and she also gets affected by it.

I seem to have all the symptoms of chronic fatigue syndrome, with anxiety closely connected to it. The more tired I get the more sick/weak I feel which fuels the fear.
    Most of the times my heart rate is normal when I feel anxious, so it’s not the classic anxiety I used to have.
    I have a diagnosed sleep apnea and use either a CPAP or mouthpiece to sleep.
    Have been to multiple physicians and they can’t find anything.

I am eating healthy whole foods, have a regular daytime activity and try to sleep pretty regularly.

Don’t know what more I can do about this. I am in therapy as well and it helps with certain things in life but doesn’t change the weak and sick feeling one bit

Re: A constant fight to stay alive, or at least that’s how it feels

I may no expert but it does sound a little like CFS too, which is extremely debilitating.
    I hear you regarding uni. Next week is my last week this semester and I’m amazed I’ve made it this far. It’s been really hard.