Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blood pressure

Blood pressure

Long time no write!
    I have been doing ok for a few years. No major issues.
    One thing that triggers me is my blood pressure. I actually avoid my annual checkup due to this.

Well I went to my checkup two weeks ago. To no surprise my blood pressure was high! 180/105. It dropped to 150. But I was told to take it at home and come back in one month.

This happened 4 years ago, and it ended up being ok. It also happened 9 years ago. I did the 24 hr monitor, again all ok!

Here is my issue. Generally when I first take it, it is about 168. It drops.
    If I have time, it will go to 135 or so.

But sometimes I am nervous, and it stays at 150 and I don't have the time to calm down.

I am not sure if I should just accept the 135 reading and stop taking it. Or push myself.
    I feel a panic everytime i take it. And when I get a few bad readings, and don't have the time to calm down, it ruins the rest of my day - which causes more stress the next time.

Anyone relate?

Re: Blood pressure

Absolutely! I get so nervous going to the doctor because of it. Someone told me that they monitor at home and bring the doctor the readings . They don’t even get it taken at the office. I’m going to do that for my next visit.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Follow best practice nursing guidelines for taking them so that you are doing all the things you need to that are aimed at taking a sensible reading e.g. sitting in the correct position, position of arm, no talking, normalise breathing, no exercise prior to reading, etc.

If you do that then if you get a high reading normalise your breathing whilst focussing on a spot on the wall or an object. Really stare at it. It will help to distract your mind away from anxious feelings and help you to concentrate on normal breathing. Do that with the cuff on so you are getting ready.