Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working for the first time tonight. Really anxious.

Working for the first time tonight. Really anxious.

I’ve never worked before. I managed to get some shifts for Mother’s Day at a local factory (funky pigeon) tonight I’m there from 6-9. I’m freaking out, my social anxiety is in overdrive. Just feel awful.

Have all these thoughts in my head like what if I don’t know what to do. What if I’m scared to ask. What if I do something wrong. What if I need the toilet? Am I just allowed to go? When 9 hits do I have to wait till someone tells me I can leave. My brain literally thinks of every little thing and unless everything I have to do is explained in detail I’m lost.

Re: Working for the first time tonight. Really anxious.

That’ll be fun I think!
    When you start they will go over the basic rules with you & show you where everything is.
    Try to enjoy it, soak up a new experience and think about what you’ll spend your money on!

Scass is right! Plan yourself a really nice treat as a reward for being so brave.

It's your first day, people will be keen to help and nobody's going to mind you asking questions. Also, it's totally rational to be afraid. Everybody gets afraid before their first day at a new job.

Well I did it. Wasn’t bad at all, was a really quiet night so there was only 4 of us on the floor I was on. All I had to do was check cards then sort them into boxes and fold some. Was really simple and the people were really nice. It’s suppose to get busier next week so I’m a little worried about that but I’m sure it will be fine. The only thing that bothered me is my legs and back really hurt from standing the whole time and I’m suppose to be doing six hours Sunday!