Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How are you dealing with COVID fears?

How are you dealing with COVID fears?

I’ve been getting a little better but still worry I will end up on a ventilator and will die. Some of my days are better than others. I’m a teacher and worried about teaching in the fall!

Re: How are you dealing with COVID fears?

The best thing for me has been to take control of what I can and try to stay in the moment. There is so much uncertainty surrounding this virus that it's just a waste of energy to what if. I'm in law school and I spent a lot of time worrying about if we'd be going back in the fall, what I'd do, if my daughter would be back in school, etc... and I finally realized it's pointless. No one knows. No one knows what the virus will do tomorrow let alone a few months from now. It's really hard to not try and plan ahead because planning is comforting, but I've mostly managed to stay in the now and take things as they come.

And, I've find a sense of control and calm in my own environment. I feel safe in our home. We pick up groceries curbside, we order things online, etc... At this point I really have no fear of actually catching Covid since we don't go anywhere and I feel like we have control over our environment. I'm having surgery in July and need to go in three weeks for pre-op testing. I was VERY nervous about this a few weeks ago, but I've even stopped worrying about that. The numbers are going down and there is so much in place to keep us safe at doctors that I don't even really worry about catching it at the doctor or in the hospital.

I'm really curious to see what happens in the wake of the protests going on now. They are almost like a national study on the potency and transmission of the virus at this stage and I think the change or lack of change in numbers in the next few weeks will actually be very informative.

Hi