Thread: Thanks COVID, you destroyed my business

Thanks COVID, you destroyed my business

As many here know I'm a software developer. The start of the year was going fine and I had a couple of clients under my sleeve who were paying monthly. I had worked lined up to cover me until July/August. But, in March all but 1 client paused on me.

During the first lockdown nobody wanted any business. Which is understandable. Why would a brick and mortar store need a website, marketing, or any software services, when they're not trading. I also create landing pages for marketers who make money through affiliate marketing but the price companies are paying for data today has dropped significantly to the point where the marketers are profiting, but only just.

September looked promising. I snagged a couple of jobs marketing some UK Drill artists. After that it's been dead and with the new lockdown measures about to come into play it looks like there's no hope getting any work at the minute. Financially I'm stuck. Mentally I'm stuck. I know this is all part of running a business, but running a business is hard enough without COVID.

Running a business during COVID seems impossible. I'm open to ideas.

Medications: 40mg Quitapine, 40mg Paroxatine, 300mg Promazine, 6mg-10mg Diazepam
    Diagnosis: Panic disorder, General anxiety, Agoraphobia, Depression, Aspergers.

Recovering alcoholic. Recovering codeine abuser.

Re: Thanks COVID, you destroyed my business

Are you self-employed and have you been for more than a year?

“Don't be afraid of death; be afraid of an unlived life. You don't have to live forever, you just have to live.” - Natalie Babbitt

Please help keep NMP running and donate to the running costs: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/donate

Quote Originally Posted by nomorepanic View Post
    Are you self-employed and have you been for more than a year?
    Self employed limited company, but haven't been in business longer than a year. December will be 12 months.