Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Schema therapy

Schema therapy

Hi, I'm starting this thread to document my experience with schema therapy for health anxiety and generalised anxiety.

So far I've just done the questionnaire, so haven't found out what schemas I have, but I suspect they are:

• vulnerability to harm
    • emotional deprivation
    • defectiveness
    • emotional inhibition
    • social isolation
    • negativity/pessimism

Something that has emerged already just from giving the therapist my background is that been so focussed on my health fears that I didn't realise how afraid of everything else I am eg. money, personal safety, career, relationships, world events.

I have a friend who says schema therapy really helped them a lot, so I'm hoping it does the same for me.

Re: Schema therapy

Following this thread with interest Carrie. X

Okay, I had another appointment yesterday and the schemas I tested strongly for weren't a surprise.

1. Vulnerability to harm
    2. Emotional deprivation
    3. Defectiveness/shame
    4. Social isolation
    5. Pessimism

It didn't come out on the test, but my therapist also thinks I have the self-sacrifice schema.

Things I've learned since starting this round of therapy (I've seen two other therapists in the past 10 years)

1. I have a lot more fear than I realised. I thought it was just health anxiety, but it's much broader than that.
    2. I have a very limited range of emotions. Fear is my constant. I sometimes feel sad, but I rarely feel happy or angry and get scared when I do.
    3. I am extremely independent. I take on a huge load in all areas of my life and don't feel I can ask for help. Not being able to take care of myself is a huge fear.

Lots to work on here and I'm really glad I've found this approach to therapy.

If you want to find out more I recommend Reinventing Your Life by Jeffrey.E.Young.