Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New heart worries. Stings and discomfort in my left side

New heart worries. Stings and discomfort in my left side

I'm new to heart worries, I've been in the health anxiety forum for a while with other worries but this is new. I'm 32 and there is no history of heart disease in my family, other than age related that everyone gets. My diet has been really poor in the last few years but I am slowly working on fixing that. In the last few weeks I have been feeling some stings and general discomfort in the left side of my chest, the location varies a bit but it's often just below the shoulder, this discomfort is also not constant, it comes and goes really. I also have periodic air hunger and have for years and years but it feels more now than usual. I've been obsessing lately over the health app that is on my phone, I have it measure my heart rate and my oxygen level, probably not the most accurate readings but readings nonetheless. It's usually putting me at around 70-100 during regular activities and the blood oxygen can be all over the place, even dipping into the 80s, that's probably not accurate since I'm not turning blue and depends really on what finger I'm using on the sensor. During exercise, for instance today I went for a short jog and I measured at around 160 right after stopping. I sometimes feel a bit lightheaded but that might be from the air hunger and anxiety (although I don't really feel anxious mentally) but I'm now making all sorts of connection to it being my heart.
    These worries first started happening few weeks ago and then came back few days ago when I started to feel this discomfort again. If it was my heart and I was having heart issues would this discomfort and these stings be more constant? I don't really have fatigue and I'm not sweating abnormally either.
    Should I be this worried?

Re: New heart worries. Stings and discomfort in my left side

Quote Originally Posted by scared88 View Post