Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Medication phobia and vaccine

Medication phobia and vaccine

I have a phobia about any type of medication and even struggle to take vitamins.

Just the thought of having the vaccination sends me into a panic.

I live with a conspiracy theory addict who tries to feed me all sorts about what "they" are going to inject into us, which doesn't help at all!

But it's not even that that scares me. More what the side effects of the vaccination will be.

I live in South Africa and I expect it'll be a while before we get vaccinated here so I reason that I have plenty of time to hear how the rest of the world react. But then people post what weird symptoms they're experiencing after they get it. That just adds fuel to my phobia.
    Last edited by Beckybecks; 08-01-21 at 13:37. Reason: Spelling

Re: Medication phobia and vaccine

I'm not an expert, but I did read quite a lot about it at the end of last year. Long term effects aren't really a thing with vaccines, as they are only a one or two dose medication. Short term effects have all been covered in the clinical trials (the same amount of people have been tested in these as for other vaccines).

The reason it was quicker was because there has been more of a concentrated effort to get it out, plus they already have similar models of vaccines for diseases like SARS. they also had a lot less red tape to cross, which is the main part of vaccines.

My gran has had 2 doses of Pfizer now, and she has had no side effects. I've heard some people have mild side effects, but I haven't heard of anything that strange and nothing that didn't subside.

I really would recommend reading some scientists explain it all properly. Off the top of my head, science.sam on Instagram is involved in the vaccines and speaks about their safety a lot.

Thank you very much for that info. It definitely helps