Thread: Increase in Ectopic Frequency

Exclamation Increase in Ectopic Frequency

Hi guys,

I am new to this but wanted to see if others have this experience. I have dealt with ectopics for many years now (age 25) but I woke up recently and one day I was having as many as 5 a minute.

Some minutes I can have none and even go as long as half an hour without any then bam back to 5 a minute for hours. I get almost none during the night and none during exercise but I do after.

My GP and cardiologist has told me my echo and holter from 5 years ago is still relevant and in a structurally normal heart I have nothing to worry about. I get SVT which neither my GP or cardiologist is worried about.

How can I suddenly go from hundreds a day to now maybe thousands, and it be considered normal!?

I'm scared something has happened since my last echocardiogram.

How many ectopics do you guys get a day?

Thanks anyone!

Re: Increase in Ectopic Frequency

Positiveg1… I also have SVT (paroxysmal with aberration). I’ve had episodes when the ectopics were every two or three seconds almost continuously for twenty-four hour periods. They started when I was in my early twenties, and I thought then that there must be something very seriously wrong. My GP at that time did an ECG and told me that, in his opinion, I had a benign arrhythmia which although a nuisance would never kill me. After nigh on forty years since, and many ECGs and associated tests which eventually confirmed the PSVT diagnosis, I’m still alive and still having ectopics.

@Pain

Thank you for the reply I appreciate it. Wow, how are you able to distract yourself from them when they are so frequent? I’m really struggling to work and get on with my life.

Do you still get just as many ectopics?
    Very reassuring to hear others in the same position and doing well.