Thread: Breast lump?

Breast lump?

Hi there,

I just came back a couple of hours ago from the GP. I went to see a doctor, because I was a little concerned originally about my left breast seeming bigger than my right, which I wasn't sure if it was normal for me, as I don't remember there being a difference before. I also was concerned because my nipple seems to stick out more when it gets hard on my left, and my bra felt tighter in places.
    But after having my breast examined (I'm not good at self-examination personally as I'll just spiral everytime I feel something that could be potentially normal), she said she felt two little lumps in my RIGHT breast so she's referred me to the breast clinic. I asked as my anxiety was spiking already (didn't help I was already anxious from being in the doctor's surgery surrounded by other people), and she said it seems likely it could be cysts but since she doesn't know for sure she's referring me regardless.
    I'm not actually sure where she felt these lumps as it's not something I've noticed myself, I do sometimes get discomfort on my right hand side around my ribs, and previously I had worried about feeling something like a little lump before around the side rib area but that was dismissed when I saw a doctor before who said she "couldn't feel anything", although she didn't really put much time or effort into checking. I also had tried to contact my GP before regarding the breast size about 3 months ago who replied and had dismissed it saying it's "normal" for women to have one larger than the other, (this wasn't face to face but over a text message), and it made me feel silly for asking. (For the record I believe this was a male doctor previously who had said that).