Thread: Tested positive - panicking over headache

Tested positive - panicking

I have been fearing this for 2 years and it has now happened, probably at a worst time possible as we have travelled to US...so stuck in a hotel room, not an ideal place to nurse yourself to health!
    It started with a scratchy then sore throat, then that resolved after I managed to get out mucus stuck in the back of it! Just left with nasal congestion and tickly throat, but when the tickle makes ne cough the head felt like it will explode, now I have the worst headache I ever had and it is not really responding to meds, feels worst aroundthe forehead and top of the head, like there is something heavy weighing on it...a lot people talk about headache with covid, is it really like this? It is making me really panic!
    Last edited by mila; 23-03-22 at 14:02. Reason: More appropriate title

Re: Tested positive - panicking over headache

A lot of people get headaches with Covid. Have you taken both paracetamol and nurofen together? You can do (just in case you didn't know). Make sure you drink plenty too.

Have you actually tested positive?

Yes, unfortunately I did. I took them in turn, not together. I did read that a lot of people get a headache, but it is different then headaches I had before, just was wondering how bad did others get it...really hope it will go soon!

How many days have you had your symptoms for?

While the actual duration of infection varies amongst each individual, with the vast majority (infected with Omicron), the onset/incubation period is on average 2 days, and the actual infection period is on average, 4-5 days approximately.

So, if you tested positive on say, Monday (yesterday), it's likely you will have more or less recovered by the weekend.

Thank you, Lencoboy. Really appreciate your reply.