Thread: Is a breakdown really a break through?

Is a breakdown really a break through?

I am new to No more panic. I am 25 and have experienced extreme anxiety since June. I joined in the hope of finding some inspiration and it has been a great comfort to see that I have experienced the same as others. I was at my worst in August and have been making a gradule recovery. But now i feel i have hit a blank and it makes me so sad. I feel that I can't get any better that I should just accept this is how I am going to feel. This makes me not to want to carry on though if this is the case. I have a few places I can go to including work. But everything scares me. Will I ever be the same again? I've travelled all around the world and now feel i can't get the tube for more than 2 stops (in August i couldn't be on my own and couldn't leave the house). I've lost my zest for life and everything feels like a challenge. People say that having a breakdown is also a break through and good can come out of it. I am failing to see the good so far. Does anyone have inspiring stories to help me think positively that i will be able to live my life to the full? I am so scared of losing control and I am so tired of fighting. Also how do anti depressants make people feel? I feel weird, sort of detached, i don't know if it is the medication or not. Is this what i will have to deal with for the rest of my life or will it get better?

Re: Is a breakdown really a break through?

Hi there I am in pretty much the same situation scared & panicky , full of anxiety. I know it is pretty hard to imagine feeling any different when you / me have felt like this for a long time. I am taking st johns wort and other things and considering hypnotherapy. Try and take each day as it comes and get help where & when you can. I feel as long as their is hope I will try and get better , hard somedays when I am not so positive though
    x take care