Thread: Purpose

Purpose

Hello all,

I've had some very kind messages from some of you recently and I wanted to thank you as I very much appreciate knowing that something I've said has done some good for someone. Thank you.

I must admit I hesitated for a long while before joining this site because I wasn't sure what others would think of me. Negative thought! lol...but I'm glad now that I did.

I'm no professional and have no qualifications on anxiety. All I have are my experiences and I guess I'm lucky to be able to share them in the hope of doing some good. It gives me purpose in life.

My anxiety has been with me for as long as I can remember and it's taken many forms. General, health, panics, OCD, etc. However, it was around 12 years ago that everything became too much and things got really bad when I became so low that I turned to drink, started self harming and taking od's. I just wanted my pain to stop but I had no one to turn to.

After taking one od and the doctor warning me that I nearly went too far, I decided I had to do something to stop the spiral. One day I heard on the News about a person jumping off a bridge because they were suffering too much and had no support. It made me feel Really sad knowing that others were suffering as I was. It made me think that here was me thinking I'm alone and trying to throw my life away when I could be doing something to help others and showing that They weren't alone! It gave me a purpose and incentive to keep going.

Once I changed my philosophy, I started thinking of other things I could change and so bit by bit things started to improve because I was helping myself to cope. The mental health team had ran out of ideas anyway.