Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please give me advice

Please give me advice

In December I had panic attacks and I was 2 times to emergency thinking that I had stroke or heart attack. Then they told me that I should seek psychiatrist treatment. During the Christmas break no psychiatrist was working and it was very difficult for me to cope with my panic attacks. Luckily I found this great site and I had support from my boyfriend and I survived. In January I started taking CBT and the doctor suggested me to take Cipralex. But I read all the side effects from it and I decided to try to manage by myself with no medications. So I didn't take any medication and I was doing fine.
    I am a student and in February I had exams (stressful period for me) but all went OK. Now after my exams are over I have increased anxiety again for no special reason. It is like I feel that something is not OK with me but I don't know what. Recently I read a story in newspaper about schizophrenia and I started being afraid that maybe what is happening to me now are some early signs. About all my fears so far I was talking to my boyfriend, but now it seems that he is fed up with me as I always have something to be afraid of - at the beginning I was extremely afraid from having heart attack, then from viruses, now from schizophrenia. Few days ago I told to my psychiatrist that I have problems again (although I was fine for a month) and she told me to reconsider the option of taking Cipralex. Again I read about all the side effects and I am afraid. Here is what I found http://www.helium.com/items/771330-s...rhaps-informed . The article is not written by medical doctor but again… I don’t understand how a medication that should treat anxiety can cause more anxiety or even suicidal thoughts. On the other side I read somewhere that untreated depression/anxiety can lead to schizophrenia, so maybe it is better to take medications. I am becoming more anxious – for the sounds that I hear I sometimes c