Thread: Alcohol and Panic attacks

Alcohol and Panic attacks

Hi! Im Steve-o, Im 23 and Im a student at Cardiff Uni. I have had panic attacks since I was about 12. Like every student (and human being?) I drink maybe like once a fortnight. I will go out to a club with my friends. For me personally the drink really helps me in social situations as well as a crowded noisy club environment. I have been out before sober with my friends and I really don't like the crowds and noise so I start to panic a bit. I dont ever abuse drink or use it more than I should. Just normal on a night out. I started drinking when I was 18 and I used to be able to cope with hangovers absolutly fine but now I find that I have the worst panic attacks ever, the day after drinking. It seems to get worse each time. I don't even drink as much as I used to. Right now for instance I am sitting in my bedroom shaking like a leaf, so scared and panicky just because I went out and drank last night. Infact, hangovers are probably the only time i experience panic attacks nowadays. Why has this suddenly happened? Any help would be appreicaited. Also if anyone can calm me down right now too that would be amazing.

Re: Alcohol and Panic attacks

Maybe you're having such bad panics when you're hungover because you've built them up to be bad. I mean, as if you're expecting it to happen?
    Are you eating properly the day after you've been drinking? If you're not eating properly, that will definitely not help your panics.
    Personally, I didn't drink that much while I was at uni, but I know most other people do!!!! - think my body has got so used to the lack of alcohol now, i'm such a lightweight! - if you have any tips for feeling relaxed in clubs that'd be great!!! Last time I properly went clubbing was in Cardiff I think when I visited a mate who goes to the uni!!!