Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there a difference between Ativan & Klonopin?

Is there a difference between Ativan & Klonopin?

hi just wanted some info. I am currently taking ativan for my anxiety and panic attacks, 1mg up to 3 times a day. My sister is on Klonopin, which she says is better because you dont have to take as much medication because it stays in your system longer. What is the actual difference? Arent they both the same thing? Sorry if this sounds dumb, I have just recently started taking medications and dont have much knowledge about them. But I do have a doctors appt next week and am wondering if I should switch if I dont have to be taking pills 3 times a day, if on Klonopin I only have to take 1 to do the job wouldnt there be less of an addiction?I appreicate everyones answers and thoughts. Thanks

Re: Is there a difference between Ativan & Klonopin?

I am no expert by any means but from what I have read your sister is right in saying that Klonopin stays in your system longer, it has a much longer half life than Ativan. They are both benzos as you rightly point out, but there are a lot of benzos out there and they all have a different make up.

all i know is that ativan is an old benzo, and i would say klonopin is a newer one? but im not sure as have never taken it - could you google it though to find out if they are related?

Quote Originally Posted by emmas View Post
    all i know is that ativan is an old benzo, and i would say klonopin is a newer one? but im not sure as have never taken it - could you google it though to find out if they are related?
    I think you are right about Ativan being an older benzo, although I guess a lot of older meds are still good too. I know quite a few people who take Ativan but they mainly take it for one off things like flying or going out somewhere if they have agoraphobia etc., and I know it acts quite quickly, whereas Klonopin will take longer to have an effect but the effect will probably last longer.