Thread: How To Help Parents Cope

How To Help Parents Cope

Hi, I'm a newbie, so bare with me. I'm sorry its so long but I don't know how to cut it down. I'm so upset right now.

I am what is termed 'morbidly obese' have had Arthritis in my ankles since I was 6yrs old, and always found myself a little social phobic. As a kid, I developed a rare condition called Multiple Allergy Syndrome. It meant that when I handled certain metals and plastics, I developed blisters almost instantaneously which scarred and took forever to heal. It has been treated via a pioneering and radical treatment, in 1998, and thank goodness, I only get that reaction on a very few things, but never as dramatic or life threatening.

Then in 1997 - first year secondary School - I developed O.C.D. I know when almost exactly when it started invading my life, and what started making me feel dirty. I never felt I could admit it to my parents. I have only openly admitted it to my folks since 2001. It causes a lot of difficulties at home, and my parents and I often argue about it. My O.C.D. takes the form of hand and body washing. I never feel clean after handling things - weirdly, that does not include my pets, not even if my cat has been outside.

Then over the past 3 years I have been involved in 3 car crashes, and last week a taxi drove into the bus I was on - talk about feeling like an extra from the Final Destination movie ! Anyway, the last one in September 2004, I was the driver. The one in 2003 - as a passenger, I had to be cut out of the car and because of my weight it took 13 Firemen to lift me out. It was so humiliating and they had to grab me and manually haul me onto a body board. Some of their hands were grabbing places that left me feeling degraded. I was discharged from hospital 48hrs later with a crushed vertebrea, whiplash and shock. Being in that filthy hospital unit was more traumatic for me than the car crash.