Thread: Post natal depression

Post natal depression

Hi, i've recently started with terrible panic attacks, about 3 months after my first son was born, (he's now 7 months) i was wondering if anyone who has experienced PND could offer me any kind of advice, at first i thought i was coping very well of course i was tired but i didn't feel anything was paricularly bothering me, now i have panic attacks almost every other day, i've seen what feels like a million doctors, i've has countless ECG's, chest x-rays & blood tests & they've all come back fine, i feel like i'm going mad & that there's no light at the end of the tunnel, i love my son to pieces, but i feel like i can't enjoy him because these panic attacks have taken over my life, i'm scared to be alone & i'm scared to go out, i just want to be how i used to be,the happy & lively louise.
    Any advice would be much appreciated
    Thanks
    Lou

Re: Post natal depression

Hey Lou

I am no expert but I did have bad PND. I had the odd major panic attack, but for me it was severe OCD that caused the isolation etc. The main thing that helped me over come the acute stages was CBT. Have you had any counselling or other support other than the tests ? Hey and don't be beating yrself up either for having pnd, cos u just make yr self worse xx You can get yr life back hun, it just takes time and some effort on your part.

Take care
    Hope xx

Hi Loulou, have you spoken to your health visitor? He/she can maybe refer you on for some support (maybe CPN for anxiety management) or can maybe speak to the GP on your behalf about a referral for counselling? Sometimes there are support groups for PND too, though a lot depends on where you live. Give your health visitor a call....Im sure they'll be able to help and at the very least can provide a sympathetic ear and give you and your family some information on the illness.

hope this helps

luv Coni XX

Hi loulou.