Thread: what triggered this ..

what triggered this ..

I first started getting panic attacks about 4 months ago. It started when I started meeting this guy that i really liked and i always got nervous when i thought about it/ talked with him/ saw him .. When i think about it, my stomach hurt when i saw him couple months before my panic attacks started. My panic attack officially started when i saw him and i guess got my 'heart broken.' could this have triggered my panic attack? I feel pathetic for saying this .. that a boy triggered my panic attacks, and it makes me more disappointed in myself

i just want to know how my panic attacks began and what triggered it ..

Re: what triggered this ..

Hi Jems

I'm not a doctor or a psychologist but it sounds like the possibility exists that you were already an nervous person? Being in a relationship can make us feel emotionally vulnerable and bring underlying anxieties to the surface. Why? Cause we put our hearts on a plate and run the risk of being happy and sad. Thats romance, attraction and love.
    Don't feel disappointed, lots of us have been in relationships that have been hard on us emotionally. The flipside of this can be true too.

Pooh xx
    I've crossed lines of words and wire, and both have cut me deep. I've been frozen out and I've been on fire, and the tears are mine to weep. But I can cry until I laugh, or laugh until I cry. So cut the deck right in half, I'll play from either side.

http://poohsworld-pooh.blogspot.com/

I don't think it's crazy at all. I started experiencing the symptoms of panic attacks when my husband went back to work. He had been self employed and home with me often (I am self employed as well). When he went back to work I couldn't handle being alone and began having symptoms of anxiety disorder. I agree that it has to be something that is already brewing in your system, but I think that something simple can trigger the initial symptoms. Aferall, it happened to me.

Hiya,