Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Did my son have a panic attack?

Did my son have a panic attack?

Hello all, I was hoping you might be able to help me! My 12 year old son had an incident at school the other day that I'm thinking might have been a panic attack. Unfortunately it escalated into a de-facto three-day suspension from school.

I have no experience in panic or anxiety attacks, but after this happened I got myself onto the Internet, did a ton of research, figured out that might be it, and ended up here. J.C. was in math class, with the teacher reviewing for an upcoming test. He had already told me the previous week that math "is really stressing me out this quarter" and felt that he was falling behind. All of a sudden he said he started to feel weird: "angry and confused and sad." The teacher says he suddenly started laughing nervously and saying things like "Numbers ... all these numbers and facts coming at me." He started twisting and turning his neck and pulling at his cheek. (the cheek pulling he does sometimes when he gets stressed; the neck thing seems new to me.) At this point all the kids were looking at him, so the teacher took him out of the class. He couldn't determine the problem so he took J.C. to the guidance office.

This is where it all went horribly wrong. My son's version of events is that the guidance counselor said to him something like "don't worry, help is on the way." He says that this made him really nervous and scared; he thought she meant that he was going to be taken away in an ambulance, and he voiced his terror like this: "I know what's going to happen now. You're going to call an ambulance and it's going to take me to a mental hospital for years and years; then when I come out I'm going to go crazy and kill people, right?" What the counselor reported is that J.C. said "I want to go into a mental hospital, and when I come out I'm going to kill everybody."