Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: scared of councelling tomorrow

scared of councelling tomorrow

hi, i start councelling tommorow and am wetting myself i was wondering if anybody can tell me what to expect? i dont know whats going to happen and am getting myself worked up. i am not very good at talking about i feel i have always kept things hidden and kept problems to myself but i have to do whatever it takes to make myself better i just scared i wont be able to handle it. i have writen everything down so they can read it though which is a massive thing in itself. i just really need to know whats going to happen when i get there so i can prepare myself.

Re: scared of councelling tomorrow

hi mrs debbie, there is absolutely no need to be afraid of the councellor tommorow i'm sure as many will agree they are very friendly, comforting and you feel very much at ease when you greet them!, so you'll be fine ! when i first met mine (4 sessions ago) she made me a tea straight away! hehe but they will probably start off asking things of anxiety in general and take things slowly at your pace, and will be very understanding so you will be fine! x

thanks very much for replying, what do you mean asking of anxiety? will they ask why im anxious or what ways i show it, i sorry if i asking too much i know each one going to be different, mine is in the doctors, i just kind of need to know what they will ask or want me to talk about, i went councelling when i was about 15 but only went one session it freaked me out too much so i couldnt go back

no they won't ask ya things if you don't feel comfortable saying, for me they just asked how i am and my feelings to start with and gave me a relaxation cd and excerpts from a book, its really nothing to worry about, i promise you!

cool, that doesnt sound like what i was expecting lol, i can do that especially if i get relaxation cd... beats a lolly and a sticker lol i do actually feel slightly less worried now, thanks x