Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Panic ridden/EMT/Children of hippies

Panic ridden/EMT/Children of hippies

Hey all! I thought i would let you all know what i was about so here it is.
    My name is dan and i have been an EMT here in San Diego For almost six years now. I have been dealing with panic attacks for about three years now ( i had had some before but very few and mostly while on drugs). I am currently taking time off from the medical business to reasses my career path.
    It all started with a week of heavy partying in TN (where i grew up for the most part) that involved Mushrooms, ecstasy, weed and booze. I had done plenty of drugs before with no serious reprecussions but i never really did ecstasy. Just didn't have a good feeling about it. On the last night of this "gathering" i ingested many mushrooms and way more ecstasy thatn anyone should. it was the first time in my life that i had done anything like this, as in taking too many drugs. As responsible a drug user as you can be i guess. I had a horrible reaction that morning about four AM and didn't sleep for about three days. since then it has all been history. it got so bad that after about a year of being heavily affected by the attacks i finally went to the GP who sent me to the psych. guy. After much debating and Q&A i finally went on paxil. it has been about two years on paxil now and i have gone from 20mg everyday to 20mg every other day and am looking to be off it in the next six months.
    As far as my symptoms went i had very strange ones. i had the usual "out of nowhere" loss of control/confusison/depersonalized episodes but i would get it after i ate often times resulting in vomiting. There was a direct connection to my digestive track and my attacks alot of the time. was aware of my heartbeat for no reason but never had any breathing problems.