Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Emetophobia and Norovirus

Emetophobia and Norovirus

The dreaded norovirus season has really kicked in big time now and I am feeling so desperate about it. I have VERY severe emetophobia (and the same with diarrhoea) to the extent I will become hysterical and a danger to myself if I'm feeling sick etc.

I'm not sure I can go through another winter of this.....not helped by the fact I work in a hospital part time. This phobia leads me to total despair and to the point of wanting to end my life.

Rationally I know all about it, know about hygiene etc because of where I work but it doesn't make the slightest bit of difference. I want to hide away in my house or stay in my car. It ruins life, I dream about it at night and everey day am tormented by the fear.

I know there are other emetophobes here. Guys, I'm really really struggling right now and am scared .

Ellie
    x

Re: Emetophobia and Norovirus

Hi.
    I'm emetophobic and have had it for years. Last year there was so much hype about this dreaded winter vomiting bug and in reality, out of our 50 something MILLION population, only a million got sick. Thats an awful lot of people who didn't get ill.

I spent a couple of weeks ago worrying terribly because a kid at my sons school puked right next to him, IN THE CLASSROOM and they left it there until break time.

I can't spend the next 3 months crapping myself in case i get it. If my son gets it, then i'll worry, but as long as i keep my hands clean there is little else i can do.

The chances of you getting (as you know) are very slim and you're not always sick with it. I've had it 3 times in 2 years, but was not actually sick, i spent 14 hours heaving and having the runs (which was not pleasant) and then the next 24 hours like i'd been hit by a truck - i can honestly say the last 24 hours were the worst.

YOU CAN go through this winter and you WILL survive it.