Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: failed my driving test... again

failed my driving test... again

hi everyone,
    just wanted to have a quick moan. i just failed my driving test again. it's the second one i've had since i started learning to drive in october last year, but the fourth one i've had in the last 11 years.
    to quote michael winner in those stupid insurance ads, i'm actually a very good driver. my instructor can't understand why i keep failing. but as soon as i see the examiner and get into the car with him i totally totally freak out. i just can't bear it and drive like i only learned how to do it yesterday.
    today i took 2mg of diazepam before setting off and it definitely helped to calm me down a bit (my left leg wasn't shaking as it normally does). but then he asked me to park in a narrow road - there were three cars queued up waiting for me to complete the manoevre so they could drive past. i got nervous and totally screwed it up.
    anyway, it's depressed me so much today. i don't think i'm ever going to pass and i really really want to. any tips on how to overcome the fear?
    sorry for rambling on,
    henri x

I know exactly how you feel mate. Took me 6 attempts to pass my test, but don't give up!
    I used to go to pieces when l saw the Examiner, but eventually ended up with a really nice one who chatted to me all the way through, so there is hope!

Denni x

Hi Henri,

So sorry to hear you failed your driving test:(
    A friend of mine who suffers PA, anxiaty went through the same
    thing. Try not let it depress you so much, you have to think positive
    Henri.
    ( I don.t think I'm ever going to pass ) negative.
    ( I really want to pass and I WILL ) positive.
    As I said to my friend if they thought you could not drive, they
    would not have put you in for your test.
    I also told ther that she needed to get an attitude, if cars were waiting
    for her to do a manoevre say to herself " they will just have to bl**dy