Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm Scared to Start taking my Medication

I'm Scared to Start taking my Medication

Hi, I am new to this so please bare with me... I have been prescribed citalopram,20mg for depression and after reading this forum I'm scared of the side effects. keep telling myself to get over Xmas first and start taking them after the New year but I think I'm just delaying because I don't want to feel so ill as these pills seem to make you. I also have to hold down a stressfull job and I'm worried about how I'm going to cope.... I'd love a day where I don't have SOMETHING to worry about. It's so good to hear I'm not on my own so I'll keep reading and would love to chat to people in the same boat. Happy Christmas x

Re: I'm Scared to Start taking my Medication

Hi Angelclif
    I understand totally your not alone...i was prescribed citalopram 10mg last week and am wary of side effects too. I know i need to try them in the hope theyll make me feel better than i am at the moment....but theres still that irrational side of me thats scared to take them...stupid isnt it.
    But i have spoken to people who havent had any side effects on them at all either and feel much better for taking them...so its swings and roundabouts really.
    Feel free anytime to pm me if you need to talk hun.
    Merry Christmas
    Take care
    xxx

Hi, Thanks for your reply, I'm so worried at the moment because I've been behaving irrationally for months now and don't really want it getting any worse. My manager at work has put me on sickness monitoring and I have a meeting with HR and her next Monday, I just really don't need this at this time,I'm so stressed out and this is making everything so much worse..what do I do? I feel like my world is crashing down around me and I can't stop it... I guess the only way is up???

There was no one more apprehensive than me about taking anti depressants.
    I was prescribed them a month ago and have been fine with them.