Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi Im new and feel like im losing my mind .. i just wanna feel normal

Hi Im new and feel like im losing my mind .. i just wanna feel normal

Hi everyone , not sure where to start here.. ive always been a very strong indipendant profesional woman and i thrived on stress ( im a branch manager )Because of my job I had to always be in control,be strong,be a motivator,and basically do my job well ! However I have been off work now for 5 weeks ( never had time off work before ever!) because I just cant do my job anymore .. its like an alien has invaded my body and im not me anymore ! I had sort of been getting a bit p****d off with work for almost a year they just seem to want more and more of my time , i was spending on average around 60hrs a week there so come january this year I just had a bit of a meltdown... i was so stressed out i just couldnt cope . I kept vommiting but only when i was at work when i was at home i was fine . I was so tired but just couldnt sleep, I kept forgetting my partners name ! ? ! I just couldnt concentrate on anything for more than a couple of mins.I was waking up in the morning with this horrendous feeling of dread. I eventually went to see my doc who was very understanding and signed me off work for 2 weeks. when i went back to see her i was no better she suggested i take an anti depressant which i really did not want to do but agreed anyhow.she gave me citalopram 10mgs,however i didnt take them cos everyone was saying "oh try not to take them ,just snap out of it,its the weather ,your just a bit overworked ,you'll be fine in a couple of days "etc so I didnt take them! well a few days later i had what can only be described as a panic attack I was in Wilkinsons and my heart started racing my legs turned to jelly i was sweating and shaking .. i had never experienced anything like that ever.I went back to the docs she suggested i take the citalopram ( which I have ) and has referred me for counselling ! thing