Thread: Public Space Design and Agoraphobia

Public Space Design and Agoraphobia

Hello,

I am a Landscape Architect doing some research into Inclusive Design - specifically for Agoraphobia. I was wondering if anyone could share what their main problems are with the built environment? Are there any suggestions as to how public space could be better designed for people with Agoraphoba? Is there something that really bugs you about the way parks, squares, streets etc are designed? What would make a difference if anything?

Re: Public Space Design and Agoraphobia

Hi

here is my list lol

No wide pavements!!
    No bollards
    that you can park outside of shops
    You can park near the gate of a childrens park so I can go in and ther has to be a seat neat gate lol
    I guess seats near exits etc lots of exits so we dont feel shut in

The thing is I really dont think the world has to change for us we have to change!!

That's a good point P-D. We shouldnt expect the world to change for us - but for us to change to fit into the world.

A few things would make life a little easier, though, whilst we're trying to overcome our problems - such as being able to park outside shops as mentioned. My biggest problem is being able to cross roads, so sometimes i can't go where i want to because, for example, the shop is on the wrong side of the road!

Hi Gregor

Ok thing that bugs me the most with modern buildings, especially shops etc, is absolutely everything is more or less enclosed. Gone are the days of a decent high street as they are all being replace by shopping centres. I think this is one of the reason why most agoraphobics fear shopping.

I live in Livingston (Just outside Edinburgh) and it's like concrete city. No high streets, no shops unless they and incased in the actual shopping centre.

Can you come build me a high street please close to my home? Lol

Good post

Lisa
    x