Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why isn't it working for me?

Why isn't it working for me?

Hi all,
    Just wanted to vent some frustration that Citalopram seems to have worked for so many and yet I have been on it for 7 weeks, (40mg), and am no better, in fact if I'm honest I am a lot worse.
    Also tried Clomipramine, prozac,Amitriptyline and Quetiapine with no success in the past. Am doing CBT and Yogatherapy and have been for a few months and yet again, no improvement. I at least used to have good days, now I honestly can't remember the last good day I had. They are all blurring into one long panic attack. I can't take this for much longer. What should I do?

Re: Why isn't it working for me?

hi tori. my god..., you have been through the mill, trying loads of diiferent treatment! what has your doctor said? im pretty new to citalopram, so not yet quite knowing how im ment to feel. but it doesnt work for every one, so maybe you just need to change you medication again! (i no its a pain in the bum) but i would say, stay on it for a little while longer. because they say these type of tablets take about 6 weeks to get into your system, and youve only been on them a week longer then that, so maybe your bodys a bit of a slow absorber?? im hopeing they they kick in soon for you , and you feel better! x

Hi Tori,

I have been on Cit for 7 weeks, but still get the odd anxiety problems, I find that I am starting to experience more good days than bad. I fthink that the meds don't entirely stop the anxiety but more mental control, by relaxation and positive thinking the symptoms seem to fade away, the more practice with this the more automatic it starts to feel normal! Don't let the bad days get you down and think of the feelings when you do have a good day and how you acheived that.

Hope things change for the better

Lion King