Thread: Thing I've learned about Coping with Panic Attacks

Thing I've learned about Coping with Panic Attacks

First I should say I'm not a doctor. I've had no medical training what-so-ever, except for extensive WebMD surfing. I think if anyone has a major concern they should see a doctor first, then when they are told they are having panic attacks or anxiety problems, that's where this information might come in handy. All I know is that I have had anxiety problems and panic attacks since I was nine, so for about 14 years now, and I'm a psychology student. I'm not a professional in anything except experience with these feelings and taking a few classes.

That said, I have found/heard/learned/read several things that have been great in helping me with my panic attacks and I think they should be passed along in case they can help anyone else. Panic attacks are one of the scariest things in the entire world, but these things have helped me realize I can have one and still reason my way through it.

It will not last. The body cannot stay in a heightened state of panic for long periods of time. This isn't really something you can control, but rest assured your body will not stay in that panic-stricken state. Eventually, it will calm down and go back to normal. It may take up to an hour for the panic attack to get a little better, but it will not last forever. It is only temporary.

You will not die. I always, always, always, feel like I am about to die when I'm having a panic attack. The good news is, though, that not a single person has ever died from a panic attack.